FREE UK Delivery
Huge Discounts On Home Essentials
Free Delivery On ALL Orders!

DUE TO HIGH DEMAND FOR OUR PRODUCTS PLEASE ALLOW ADDITIONAL DELIVERY TIME - CORONAVIRUS ADVICE CLICK HERE


The Tattooist of Auschwitz Book Heather Morris Holocaust True Story Paperback

For readers of Schindler's List, The Man Who Broke into Auschwitz and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas comes a heart-breaking story of the very best of humanity in the very worst of circumstances.


I tattooed a number on her arm. She tattooed her name on my heart.


In 1942, Lale Sokolov arrived in Auschwitz-Birkenau. He was given the job of tattooing the prisoners marked for survival - scratching numbers into his fellow victims' arms in indelible ink to create what would become one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust. 


Waiting in line to be tattooed, terrified and shaking, was a young girl. For Lale - a dandy, a jack-the-lad, a bit of a chancer - it was love at first sight. And he was determined not only to survive himself, but to ensure this woman, Gita, did, too.


So begins one of the most life-affirming, courageous, unforgettable and human stories of the Holocaust: the love story of the tattooist of Auschwitz.


-----


'Extraordinary - moving, confronting and uplifting . . . I recommend it unreservedly' Greame Simsion


'A moving and ultimately uplifting story of love, loyalties and friendship amidst the horrors of war . . . It's a triumph.' Jill Mansell



Product Details:

Paperback: 320 pages

Publisher: Zaffre (4 Oct. 2018)

Language: English

ISBN-10: 1785763679

ISBN-13: 978-1785763670

Product Dimensions: 12.9 x 2.3 x 19.8 cm



Review:

a sincere...moving attempt to speak the unspeakable Source: The Sunday Times


What an extraordinary and important book this is. We need as many memories of the Holocaust as we can retain, and this is a moving and ultimately uplifting story of love, loyalties and friendship amidst the horrors of war. I'm so glad Lale and Gita were eventually able to live long and happy lives together, and thankful that Heather Morris was moved to record their incredible story. It's a triumph Source: Jill Mansell


Extraordinary - moving, confronting and uplifting . . . a story about the extremes of human behaviour: calculated brutality alongside impulsive and selfless acts of love. I recommend it unreservedly' Source: Graeme Simsion, author of The Rosie Project


Based on the true story of Lale Sokolov, who is forced to tattoo numbers on his fellow concentration camp detainees' arms. Source: The Bookseller


Nothing that I could possibly write here would be eloquent enough to convey to you how powerful and moving this book was. I could go on for pages telling you how well this is written, nothing is overdramatized...she just tell this tale that is at its bare bones a love story. I cried entire buckets of tears. Finally I will use the words of Lale "If you wake up in the morning, it is a good day" that it is. That it is Source: Netgalley Reviewer


What I loved so much about this book is that it actually made me stop and think; each and every one of those people, regardless of their number or rank within the system or whether they survived or didn't, had their own story. A quite unexpected story in fact of love, despite the odds, within the concentration camps. What's so beautiful about this book is not actually that it's true. Because it is both too beautiful and too ugly to really "enjoy" reading such an honest first hand account. What struck me the most was how quickly relationships, and very strong friendships almost akin to family, develop when times are so terrible. A hard-hitting, important book with love at it's core. A brave story shared with an author who delivers it perfectly for one man, and his love affair, who would not be defeated Source: Netgalley Reviewer


I don't like reading war time books because they get too depressing or too political. But this one was so different, it gave you hope, that even in the darkest of times if your willpower and faith is strong you can come out successful Source: Book Ninja


It is one of the rarer stories of the Holocaust, that dares to feature romance in such a place of misery, hopelessness and the dearth of birdsong. Love happened, and the unlikely, nay downright impossible, happened, and this heartfelt book is a very enjoyable presentation of that. Source: The Bookbag


A beautifully written harrowing story of one man's will to survive in Auschwitz...it is a story of hope and endurance and a beauty that emerges when all around is painted in black. As a reader you cannot help but be affected by this account the simplicity of the story telling only adds to the poignancy... Source: Library Thing


This is an outstanding read...An extremely powerful and absorbing read that had me in tears at the most surprising moments and it will be making an appearance in my Top Ten of 2017. It is due to be published in January 2018 and I hand on heart urge everyone to read it. Source: Batty About Books

*FREE Delivery on this item

Write a review

Please login or register to review
  • Product Code: 9781785763670
  • £4.99


Tags: The Tattooist of Auschwitz Book Heather Morris Holocaust True Story Paperback, Heather Morris, The Tattooist of Auschwitz: the heart-breaking and unforgettable international bestseller, Zaffre, 1785763679, 9781785763670

Delivery Information


Munchies Orders £1.99 Per Order Flat Rate

UK Standard 
Royal Mail
FREE Delivery On All Orders!
Deliveries take up to 3-5 working days (excludes Weekends & Bank Holidays) FREE

UK Next Day DPD £6.99
*Where available* Orders placed before 2pm Monday-Thursday will be delivered on Tuesday-Friday.
Orders made after 2pm Thursday will be delivered the following Monday. Orders made after 2pm Friday will be delivered the following Tuesday.
(excludes Weekends & Bank Holidays)

Postcode Restrictions Apply.

Our Guarantee

It is important to us that you are pleased with all our products. If there is any reason why you are not completely satisfied with any product you order from us, you can simply return it to us within 14 days from receipt, providing it is unused and in a re-saleable condition, in the original packaging with all labels attached and you can supply the despatch note as your proof of purchase.
If after purchase, any product fails to give reasonable wear in reasonable time - due to either defective workmanship or materials, we will credit the purchase price to your account. This does not affect your statutory rights.

Questions? Contact Us

Recently Viewed

The Tattooist of Auschwitz Book Heather Morris Holocaust True Story Paperback

The Tattooist of Auschwitz Book Heather Morris Holocaust True Story Paperback

For readers of Schindler's List, The Man Who Broke into Auschwitz and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas..

£4.99